Everything has changed…


I’ve taken the next step into the voyage into YouTube. At the start, I didn’t want to turn it into something bigger than just to moderate my time.

Though my prowess in visual art is lacklustre, I find it fairly productive. The whole process of editing my videos have been kind of therapeutic in a weird way. Mostly indescribable the way it’s a bit calming to just go through and edit everything. After all the artwork and stuff added to the edited gameplay, I must admit it’s pretty beneficial. For time, I put away about 2 hours per video to recording and editing and about 5-10 hours on uploading. So turn around is about 12 hours for a video. Since I like to record en masse, that would come in handy since I can edit and upload at the same time. As long as can put out videos as fast as I can edit them, it’s not a problem. However throwing a wrench in the works has already taught me a few things.

Before the last couple parts of my Defiance let’s plays (part 60 and 61), OBS was the one program that required tweaking and adjusting. For most of the series, I’ve been secretly adding and subtracting numbers to find the best settings for me. Though these little additions and fixes are sparse, they have been helping me push back the file size. From a 1 GB file to just under 900 MB, not much of a reduction but it saves some space in case I need to do anything which ironically is not the case.

At the budget of “I wish I had money”, Windows Movie Maker seems to be the route to take for editing at the moment. I feel like I only scratched the surface of editing. Cutting has been pretty easy, but with all my efforts the couple tests I’ve done have only cut down maybe 5 minutes off of a 20 minute video and less depending on the size of the video. Most of the time, I cut a lot of driving and small bits of the combat in game to push through it than watching these drawn out battle scenes.

So far it’s been slow learning about visual art and video editing. It has it’s challenges and rewards. It’s definitely something that I can grow into but my interest in creating art is more or less reserved to writing than to a canvas of colour. For now, my maxim of “whatever works” has taken me this far. Until next time, let’s see how far I can really take this.

Leave a comment