nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

The Red Green Show marathon? Challenge accepted!


I can’t believe it’s been over a decade since I watched The Red Green Show. The show’s been off the air for the latter half of the decade and of course, I think we always have some nostalgic feeling when it comes to TV shows. Few examples; remember Friends? remember Seinfeld? and for anyone old enough to remember, remember the A-Team? Not the recent movie, but the TV show. In my point of view the few shows I enjoyed in the late 90’s and early 2000’s, my most remembered TV show is The Red Green Show. Of course when I was a kid; the joke never made sense or the characters were nonsensical. Recently YouTube managed to bring up one of the episodes from the show. After a few hours and 6 or 8 episodes later, it dawned on me there will be lots of episodes I’ve never seen before.

When it was on the CBC, it was during the noon hour so I could always come home for lunch watch 20 minutes of it and go back to school; never a full episode. So now unemployed and much time on hand, I started to watch all of them. Not just bits here and there, but from first to last. At the time I decided to do this, it would seem an easy task. That was before I noticed there are 300 episode in 13 seasons. So I’ve work in how I would watch them without starving, going blind or defecating in my pants. So I figured each episode is at most 25 minutes long (thank goodness for YouTube and 20 seconds of ads) and each season is at most 25 episodes for 13 seasons. So about an hour is 3 episodes (…roughly) so 7 hours for a season and about 90-100 hours in the series. So in a day, I could probably stand about 5 hours a day; which is 15 episodes. In short…well, read the title.

Ah, sorry about that. Some of you might have been wondering what the hell I’m talking about. The Red Green Show for those too young to remember or didn’t see it, it’s a Canadian sketch comedy show revolving a bunch of middle aged guys in solving problems. It’s better than it sounds like; some of the segments in the show provide advice and some just go into some great antics like turning an old Cadillac into a backhoe or watching a someone do a simple task like beekeeping or camping. Don’t believe me? Here’s a link the the channel. 

Now if you excuse me, I have a marathon to run.

Leave a Reply

