nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Ask Questions.


I regrettably bought myself a tripod at a store I knew little about. Upon closer inspection, I realized this isn’t the tripod I wanted.

My previous tripod before I bought this new one was a metre high. Almost everything besides the screws and legs are made out of plastic. It’s still a nice little tripod that I got as a gift but as I kept shooting with it, I found it very restrictive since there were some shots I wouldn’t be able to do at that height. Not so recently I bought myself a new tripod hoping it would be better. It is, however I wish I asked more questions about the type of heads and their advantages. The old one I have is a pan head, which has two screws to control the pitch (up and down) and pan (left and right) as well as one knob for tilts (closest I can describe is the level of the camera). That’s a pan head, which I’m very familiar with however the new one is all light metal and designed as a ball head. From what I’ve learned, a ball head has one knob to control pan, tilt and pitch. Then one to control the rotation of the ball mount? I seriously don’t know what that one knob does besides to stop the mount from rotating. (Anyone who’s experienced with ball head tripods, leave me a comment and help me out. Thanks!)

I guess the one lesson to learn here is ask questions, even when you think you’re sure…ask anyways.

Okay, maybe a second lesson here is don’t make impulse purchases over 10 dollars, you will be screwed on the return policy (which the store does not have, unfortunately.)

 

Leave a Reply

