nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Day 12 – Books


From hugaslittlehouse.wordpress.com

I’m bending the rules on this since when I was a kid, I never read a lot of books. As an adult I’ve read more within 2 years than I have in decades before it. I think it is due to just having to never write a book report on them. The bane of my high school experience was reviewing books and materials. Regurgitation isn’t something I would like to do, but with due dates so close you have to just push it out of your mouth like a mindless worm.

The latest book I’ve read is “David and Goliath” by Malcolm Gladwell. Consists of facts and anecdotal evidence about people who think outside the norm. It’s rationalizes that physical appearance does not hinder success and the best can be the worst.

Even though I have not reread Gladwell in a year or so, I’ve been interested in a couple graphic novels from Bryan Lee O’Malley. The latest one I’ve read is Lost At Sea which revolves around her road trip in search of her belonging in the world. The book takes a philosophical turn and in the end she finds what she has been searching.

As well I’ve recently read Seconds by O’Malley which has a supernatural twist where a restaurant owner tries to perfect her world to understand the situation she belongs in is hers and hers alone. Without giving much away, it explores our need to have everything perfect but reality is nothing is perfect regardless how you put them. We are the product of our doing.

I should really read Scott Pilgrim and read other books from Gladwell, these books are really made me ponder the world.

Leave a Reply

