nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Day 11 – Favourite F


From hugaslittlehouse.wordpress.com

In the Day 2 post, I mentioned I enjoy a diverse selection of food. As a kid growing up, I was exposed to some Asian oddities of Chinese cuisine. However I still cringe at a few delicacies, I’m into both meat and veg but there are some veg and meats I would rarely eat due to bad experience.

In no particular order, favourite foods starting with:

  1. Noodles, I don’t know why I like noodles. I like it in soup and as a standalone with some veg and meat. This is inclusive to noodles from out of the Chinese ethnic background. I like pasta like fusilli, penne, macaroni and spaghetti. It’s only 4 in that example and it’s only because those are the 4 I frequent most. Then there is ravioli, which brings me to the second thing.
  2. Dumplings, it’s like stuffed noodles. Debatable which is better, depends on the stuffing. Like noodles, this is inclusive to anything which has meat or vegetable stuffed into a pastry or staple. When I was a kid, I like minced pork and beef with bit of veg. I like my dumplings cooked a variety of ways; steamed, boiled, fried and pan fried. As long as it’s cooked and served up to me, I can probably stomach a few.
  3. Openly stuffed, since I’m doing categories this is for nothing enclosed. Food like burgers, hot dogs and sandwiches. I just like the combinations of food and veg in things so innocuous as a sandwich. Though most of the time they’re processed, I do like processed meat. Nothing’s great went consuming meat between two buns into your mouth. It’s a meal in two handfuls.
  4. Fried food, probably unhealthy out of the ten in this list. I like certain things that are fried; chicken, spring rolls, samosas. It’s nice in the winter when it’s a bit piping hot, even in other seasons it’s great to bit in and see the steam waft away from the goods. Aside from deep frying, pan frying is pretty delicious as well. Some people say burned food will give me cancer, however it’s a neat alternative to convection oven baking.
  5. Speaking of baking, I love baked goods. Cakes and pies, not forgetting pizza; pizza I believe is baked. I cannot take enough of the soft texture and the sweet or savoury taste.
  6. Sweet, savoury and spicy sauces, I’m not leaving condiments behind. Sometimes good food is best complimented with a condiment. I favour the sweet and savoury, BBQ sauces and the sweet and sour things. On occasion, I do go out there and grab the hot sauce. Not the hottest of the hot sauce, but something with a kick. There are some thing that’s worth the spices.
  7. Soup, large bowls of soup is incredible. Best consumed when sick but even better on a chilly day. It’s homely and can be timelessly rustic. I remember I spent an entire month on a pho noodle soup binge. It’s so delicious to have noodles in a beef broth and having herbs suspended in this dark boiled goodness.
  8. I also have a sweet tooth, candy is something I enjoy in frequently but I do like gummy candies as well as hard candies. I remember when Skittles had the sour skittles, it was the first time I really had a sour candy and that got me kind of hooked onto sour candy. Unhealthy as it is, it’s a nice treat from time to time.
  9. Soda, fizzy and sugary. It’s liquid candy. Before you ask, “Eric, Coke or Pepsi?”; I’m both, some days I like to drink the crisp taste of Pepsi and sometimes I want to grab a Coke for it’s smooth after taste. Awhile back both had their release of cherry flavoured cola and they have their line of lime cola and for both, I’ll take my Cherry Coke and Sprite. Then there is the Dew, Mountain Dew is great when I’m not consuming any food; a nice drink for just lounging.
  10. Fruits, it’s nature’s candy! Sweet and delicious and for the work you put in cleaning and peeling, it’s great. I usually stick to eating bananas, apples and oranges; however grapes are are pretty great since you can eat one and save the rest for later. Same with strawberries and cherries.

Now if you excuse me, I have a taco to eat because this made me hungry.

Leave a Reply

