nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Alternatives.


As some of you read previously, I’ve upgrade my laptop to Windows 10; still having some teething issues, but I’m starting to settle with it. Like with Windows 7 when I first got it, I’m back into the routine of reinstalling every program I need. My laptop serves as a mobile blogging and internet platform; regardless of it’s hefty weight.

Though at the moment, the store provided by Microsft does provide some means of receiving some programs. However I dislike most of their offerings which has reverted me to my old programs. Defraggler and CCleaner to lighten the load off my computer. Chrome and Firefox or my browsers; yes, I have both. Science purposes, I promise. Of course, Windows Live Writer for my blogging tool. Though for some unforeseen conditions, I cannot for the life of me get Writer to work properly now.

I thought at first, I thought it would be easy. Just download and install it onto my computer, add my credentials and off we go. No doubt a few set backs have put me into a situation where I’m scouring the internet of solutions. At first I looked into other applications and even using the WordPress online writer off of my own account. As hand dandy the net is with online solutions, I much prefer some things remaining offline. Especially for the fact my home connection is not the average in the world nor this country and city. As antiquated the idea is, our dependency on instant and online has opened my eyes on how easy we have it compared to just a decade ago.

As many of you probably come out of high school or even at my age, there are very few things we install anymore that can really be considered a program. Though the rebrand to "apps" may be apt, the only two apps I could ever download is games and even with games, most of the save data is not going to the cloud. As convenient and space saving as it, it’s relying on a tether; the internet. As much as I am pro-net, there are some things left to what many would think is antiquated. Call me old all you want but when you have no Internet, I’ll be listening to my entire MP3 music library while you search for a strong signal for Spotify or Pandora.

The world may go around telling the new is what’s now; but when it comes to reliable computing, I think of offline and local. I think of keeping my information close to me and my devices closer. Never outsourced unless it is for sharing beyond conventional distances. I remember simpler days when Steam connected me to other players rather being the center to get my games. In honesty some services are handy for being online, some seem very cumbersome. Say for example app stores; as much as I appreciate each mobile OS to have their app store, the problem is exclusive access. You need a certain phone to access it to buy the goods and services on it. In the early days of the game store, it was the one and only place you could buy games reliably. The one shop locally you can buy any game for any console. The game analogy being the app and the console being the phone’s OS. There are many games I would like to play on my Blackberry Playbook and Android device from iOS, I am not willing to put out more money into a device I already own. Which creates a divide and as the console debate rages to this day, we could see the same. Rather than console versus PC (PC Master Race!); we could see the future (if not now) a heated debate, Android or Apple? As fun as pitching an argument, ubiquity in my opinion is a necessity than exclusivity.

So to hell with your app store, Windows 10. I will stand my ground until I find what I need. My install is fresh like a rapper’s rhymes and I seek it to fill my drive with what I need and not to a service you make me want. Much like I prefer a map and compass, my hard drive is where my "cloud" is and it’s a damn small but personal one.

Leave a Reply

