nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Canadian Concerns


To preface this post, I would like to say I’m not a political person. I know I’m not very active in taking sides to any issues, for the most part I sit and watch how my last has really mattered. The irony about my last vote was I wasn’t even a necessary one.

I believe the last election was about 4 years ago when a Canadian federal election was called. Though I still have faith in the system, in a way I don’t have faith in it either. I strongly believe democracy can get a lot done, there is so much finger pointing and bickering that I could’ve became a grade school teacher and seen less of it. Fact is I have about over 6 weeks to decide who is the next prime minister for the next 4 years. The next 42 days changes what happens in the need 2000 and plus days until the next election.

Without divulging which party I selected last year, I did choose one that stood by on some critical issues. The large one I followed was veteran affair. I have a firm belief people who serve the armed forces in this country should be entitled to something at the end of their service. They may be faceless to some however for me from what I’ve seen and read beyond the headlines, no one can ever outwork these people. All of us may complain of an 8 hour day at a low wage, these guys work themselves to the ground to ensure security at home and abroad and providing a face for the Canadian public on the world stage. If I could, I would owe them all a pint however I rather vote to put some of my tax dollars into making sure they get a well deserved retirement.

As a young person, it’s definitely hard to find jobs these days. To be honest there are only two jobs I feel qualified for; one I must have qualifications or I am overly qualified. I think this is the bottleneck we face where employers are hiring overqualified students for menial labour. Preach all you want about unemployment being at this percentage all you want, we still have our future working in jobs where they don’t benefit society. These engineers and scientists are our taxi drivers and burger flippers. These are the kids we have to put our best foot forward if we are to make a lot of changes to ourselves. This change could be anything from the environmental and technical sectors. One of those unemployed or underemployed folks could be developing a method to get us as a species into space more efficiently but they’re holding on a job that does not fit the degree. Most of my readers have read about my employment problems in the past and I know there is something we can do about this. At the time of this post I checked the unemployment; it’s sitting around a 6.5%. Doesn’t sound much at first, however you consider that with a number like 3 million, you soon realize 6 percent is a lot of people still out of a job. Even worse is the fact the number doesn’t even account of underemployment, those people who are still working but can’t necessarily pay for everything they need. This is indeed a scary thought that someone somewhere is being ignored because the governing body decides they’re already well off. As compartmentalized as the government is, employment a major one effects industry, economy, labour. The people must come first before we can go anywhere.

Though these are a couple and I am just one of millions who are going to vote, I want every young Canadian who is eligible to vote. Don’t slack off and not vote or pass your vote off at a random person. Make it out to the voting because there are issues that concern this generation, our generation. We are only getting older and if we don’t act now, the future can get only worse. 

Leave a Reply

