nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Re: #472 Where are you Steam Sales?


A response to #472 Where are you Steam Sales?.

I’ve been on Steam for almost a decade (According to my badge, 8 years) and I’ve seen Steam change it’s marketing and this year I think they’re trying to wean their users towards what they want their platform to become.

At first when I started Steam, it was mainly AAA titles getting the holiday sales page. It was tough back then to look online for games other than what’s popular and hyped. With the advent of Greenlight, there has been bunch of submissions and approved games listed on the market. This is where the problem lies with the users and the consumers on Steam.

The indies don’t necessarily have a marketing team running round the clock to advertise their game since they want to produce the product than enhance their own image. Usually these small studios are running on a timeline and a budget unlike larger studios who can afford a bit of time wasted. This race to publish has granted us something unique in the industry at the moment, early access.

In my personal opinion, some of the developers seem smart on when to go fully public on their early releases while some have been just pushing hard to get the funding they wanted. While others are focused too into their product and they create a great product but not enough to generate awareness of it. So most games I found have either don’t reach expectation of the game while some just go under for not being well funded. This is what’s great about Steam. Steam can act as the marketing platform to sell the game on behalf the developers. And I think Steam sees this and it’s why a lot of early access titles are on sale for the holidays. It generates awareness for these games at an appropriate price while giving players the opportunity to be the kid in a candy store to buy a lot of games for a small cost.

Perhaps the lackluster feeling you are receiving is being you are not sure about these games and it feels you are not getting the sales you were expecting. I too felt the same way and it is indeed very difficult to buy a game when most of the catalogue is on sale. To that, I say we take the lessons we learned from Watch_Dogs; we take a risk regardless how much we spend and how popular the game, but it is indeed our risk to take.

Thanks for the article!

3 responses to “Re: #472 Where are you Steam Sales?

  1. Spencer Nozell January 2, 2015 at 3:01 am

    Great Article and you are right, while reading your response two things caught my eye:

    “The indies don’t necessarily have a marketing team running round the clock to advertise their game since they want to produce the product than enhance their own image. Usually these small studios are running on a timeline and a budget unlike larger studios who can afford a bit of time wasted.”
    -While that is true that indie dev teams can not hire marketing people to push their games, there is a community of bloggers, streamers, and YouTubers out there finding and discovering indie games all the time. I mentioned before that I bought Shovel Knight because of the people from Two Best Friends, Continue, and TotalBiscuit. If the game is good it tends to make it’s way around the web.
    It was the same thing that made me buy Super Meat Boy, Binding of Isaac, Limbo, and Thomas was alone.

    I also want to mention that while there are some Indie games that caught my eye, they are still in Early Access. While it my be beneficial towards the developers in making the game, I refuse to buy any E.Access game. I do have a list of games that I will buy on Day One once they finally finish the product.

    “Perhaps the lackluster feeling you are receiving is being you are not sure about these games and it feels you are not getting the sales you were expecting. ”

    Spot on, I remember previous sales events with games that eagerly waiting to buy I was hoping to go on sale at ridiculous discounts and other must have games (Portal and the popular indie games mentioned before) for my Steam account.

    But now this time, going in, there were no games go even caught my interest. ((Still bought METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE and Saint Row IV))

    I guess this is what what happens when you

    • Eric January 2, 2015 at 3:17 am

      Your reply is cut short, I think.

      Of course indie games rely on more of a community marketing solution though it’s rather difficult to differentiate between a legitimate review and a paid review. These indeed do exist and it’s rather difficult at times to wonder if it’s legitimate or not. Also there are those who just don’t like a game because it’s not what they like.

      As I said; “we take a risk regardless how much we spend and how popular the game, but it is indeed our risk to take”.

  2. Pingback: #479 The Post 2015 Winter Steam Sales report | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

