nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Full Force 2014


To be honest, that title sounds like a video game. But this one’s about putting theme to a new years. Last year because I had a few lousy, I wanted to just dominate 2013 with positivity. I did everything I could to enjoy the year and secure myself a future.  So for 2014, I thought I could give you folks something to do for the entire year. I know new year resolutions are easily broken, but perhaps start with a small toss than a long throw?

1. Volunteer

Last year I began volunteering after half a decade without it. I have to admit, it’s a rewarding experience when you find a right place. Regardless, volunteering can be really handy. If employment is kind of a stretch for you like me, maybe give volunteering will help to bolster your resume. Not only that but you gain some professional experience if not personal experience. Who knows? Maybe find some skills you like working with you never expect you would like working. If you’re not in it for the experience, it’s a good opportunity to network; personally and professionally. Make friends with other volunteers and maybe they can hook you up with opportunities that you would not get as a nobody. If video games have taught me, NPC’s are nicer if you know them better and they give you more quests. Though you should focus more on making friends than coworkers since I think people like to have friends than coworkers.

2a. Collect ‘em all!

Might seem old school but maybe start a collection of items. Could be rocks, could be stamps, could be vintage items; just anything that catches your eye, just put it in that collection. Even without a theme, there’s always the “Stuff I Found Awesome 2014”. Whatever your kink is, collect it for 2014! If you’re into games like me, you can collect stuff too!

2b. Catch ‘em all!

Gamers, this is your year to collect what you want in your games. Whether it is an armour or weapon set, a slot full of items or just to reach the highest level; this is the year for all that. Focus on it and work on it; I know it’s a grind but at least you have a year to grind. For me, I’m definitely going to have a collection going on since I did start Blacklight: Retribution and it allows you to permanently unlock weapons, attachments and armour. So that’s going to be my game of the year. I’ll still be playing Star Trek Online but I’m pretty much at the end of the game. Collecting end game sets now are just to stay on top of the game rather than enjoying it. Perhaps this year, you can get into collecting something. It’s like kill collection quests, but it takes longer and you have an actual reward at the end.

3. Adventure

I think it’s a bit in out human nature to go beyond familiar shores to see something new; something different. You can do the same, even at home there are a lot you do. In a multicultural city, there’s always new food to discover and new places to visit. If you have been there and done that, maybe go outside your city and explore another. Visit somewhere you always wanted to go but never had a chance to travel; heck, make this year the excuse for escaping. Hawaii and the Caribbean’s always there, go somewhere you always wanted to because you want to try or do something there. The world is your ocean, set course to all the new things!

4. Steadfast Future

Perhaps your year ended well and you want to keep it up or it ended in a tragedy; there is nothing wrong to hold fast to what you have and build upon the progress you’ve made. Maybe you need some bridges burnt, burn them this year. You need mend old wounds? Sew them up this year. You want to start a new path in life? You are your own map and compass, just start walking. Simply put; if you have a bad year, fix it for this year. If you had a good year, keep it going for this year and see where it takes you. You would be surprised what you can accomplish without a specific goal.

Until next time, wherever the wind blows is where you will go!

Leave a Reply

