nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Weirdness For The Lose! (Yup, 2 parter)


Continuing off with the reading material set forth in my last post; under a paragraph or less, I will reveal the most random thoughts. It would be interesting for those just stumbling by on this post. Or it would spark something along the lines of “so I’m not the only one” or “Worst. Idea. Ever. Maybe.” Regardless of this heat wave and my brain acting like it’s turn itself off spontaneously, here’s part two which could be a great evening read or something to help you over hump day.

I have a wireless mouse powered by a pair of AAA batteries with a dongle the side of a thumb drive. With the AA and AAA battery types so popular now, we have so many proprietary batteries for a lot of devices. From where I can tell , electricity is electricity. I’ve noticed between phones, laptops and common devices; we use a lot of batteries in our lives. As I pondered with beads of sweat running down my head, why wouldn’t laptop manufacturers build a battery that is universal? Wouldn’t just duplicating the design just be easier to cut down cost than design a battery profile for a specific brand or model? I’ve been trying to hunt down a battery cell for my Toshiba. Considering it has been off the market, I will have to buy one from a third party manufacturer. From some preliminary shopping, I can already see that these hefty batteries come from many shapes and sizes. They all do one thing, provide a mobile power supply. Even with a two hour battery life, you can do a lot within a two hour time frame as well as recharging the cell. Better yet though would be a bit costly on the consumers is to build a battery box in a laptop to fit in conventional batteries. The box would only act as a interface while the user provides the AA or even D cells to put into the box which goes into the machine. The former would be more convenient with the fact that if your computer dies, you would have a spare battery for the next one. Which could make buying a battery for your laptop a secondary purpose?

Speaking of power supply issues, what’s up with power cords located in difficult places on laptops? Mine’s located on the right but the outlet is no where near the right side. At least for me, the cord I bought is designed with an elbow at the input end. What I find it inconvenient to have a cord wind around to get access to an outlet. Wouldn’t be easier to have it dead centre in the back where the screen and chassis hinges? Better yet, why not have it hooked up to the battery directly so if you chose to do so, you can recharge without having the whole laptop laying around? Usually when you sit at a desk or table the cord is usually located on the far side of the desk or usually the power cord would be away from the user, not around them. Traditional layout for a laptop from what I’ve seen, but I think these would be good improvements on that.

During a heat wave I’ve noticed my mind wanders more than if I was just “normal”. However rather than a normal wandering, my mind just seems to drift off and just stops creatively thinking and starts doing something weird. I remember as a kid, I would just drift off into thought; externally I would look like I was daydreaming. But in this heat it just more like blanking out, yet I’m pretty aware what’s going on. Like yesterday as I was trying to figure out what I was going to do. I knew what I wanted to do but my mind blanked out to the point where I just knew I had to do something but I totally forgot exactly what it was I was suppose to do. Is that normal or should I be drinking more water?

I know the Internet is sold as a service, but according some constitutions freedom of information and media is stated. My query is if the internet the a media and a network for information, then why isn’t it free? Considering it is a freedom in some countries to share opinions freely and peaceful assembly, wouldn’t it be the only logical choice to not impede that freedom with capital gain?

While we’re on the subject of civics and yes I’m bringing this up, the NSA cyber-surveillance subject. Though technically out of bounds of my country, it does raise a point about what the government should and should not do. I think actions done to protect their people is justified under certain limitations. However this does not include preventative measures especially clandestine ones. You can argue that it was announced a long time ago they were going to do this, though to look into people’s intimate lives is stepping into the boundary of stalking and even invasion of privacy. From my point of view, everyone should be entitled with some privacy limited by only the freedoms and rights of a country. However when government programs start infringing on those charters, I would say the best interpretation out of the situation is the governing body is no longer serving the best interest of the people in the nation but acting to protect the governing body. Example being if I was looking through your bathroom window while you were showering. You can argue I was invading your privacy by watching you naked in the shower. I can argue in the safety and interests on your behalf, I just wanted to ensure you didn’t slip and fall. I would technically lose the argument since I was on your property without consent which would be trespassing and invasion of privacy. Same situation here, if the country is listening and watching you; wouldn’t that make them watching you without your consent? In a way I feel for the American people though I pity them in terms of their methods of non-violence at times. When I heard the news, I didn’t see any reports of protests or even some slight physical outrage. The only outlet for the rage was online, where news agencies and forums were full of opinionated people who should really be in front of a civic centre and physically protesting rather than voicing concerns anonymously online. From recent events, I can tell governments will take better action from physical protests than from online petitions. Doesn’t have to be organized, if there are a lot of angry people then they should be assembling somewhere. Unless freedom of assembly is a no-no in the United States of America; last time I checked, it was still okay.

Speaking of privacy, whatever happened to all the anti-piracy legislations? People should really follow those closely considering some if not all is about the internet. It just seems wherever I try and get my international and nation news, it’s always focus on the current and never follows up on old news. I wish popular media would be more hands on than just passing around information from other sources.

That is all…for now…

Leave a Reply

