nawkcire

Games, Tech and Blogging…I can't guarantee in that order.

Valentine’s Day – Not what I remembered it


This wretched day and I had never really been close. Year after year, the same mindless stuff is set out on display from the start of February until the Easter decorations go up the next day. Every year, it is the same thing considering I sit in my room and play video games; though this year I’m accompanied by a bit of vodka. Not lonely and sad if I’m drinking to celebrate.

Valentine’s Day has lost its meaning. Now it seems more of a lustful endeavour than a display of passion. Use to be the day to commemorate a legend of human compassion, now seems ever more as an industrial, hyper-sexualized gimmick to promote human reproduction. It is not now I have realized this. I spent a good number of Valentine’s Days watching people hook up and break apart. We might well call it Pon Farr Day for all the likely bump and grind sessions happening right now (if coitus was represented by the media).

Nonetheless, I am happy for those couples celebrating. Those that hooked up for the day, that’s okay too since it’s your heart to be shattered. The day of chocolate, candy, flowers and lots of possible poems portraying a beloved muse. Though such things should have a counterpoint. Like a good relationship, two is better than one. I propose for next you my fellow bloggers a new day to balance all the happy and sad people on Valentine’s Day. A day where you can be allowed to eat all the chocolate you want, watch all the movies you want, and write sad (if you want) poetry all you want…alone! I call this day “De-Valentine’s Day”. The day falls on the day you think about Valentine’s Day. So pretty much any day of the year, just go with it! DV Day, the holiday where you just don’t care. Meant to be celebrated alone and any fashion you damn well please. So tomorrow will be day 3 for me. I plan on eating my face in and maybe spend time finding a job. Of course, all of you are welcome to join me. Wherever you are thinking of the sheer loneliness, just go out and do something you want to do; especially stuff your face with food part.

Take it easy, folks. I’ll talk to you next time.

Leave a Reply

